The SCA Certification and the Coffee Skills Program

The SCA Specialty Coffee Association (in Europe), is the organization which sets the professional standards for those who want to work in the world of coffee and coffee bars. Although its European headquarter is in London, this certificate is accepted in the whole world thanks to its partner organizations in America and Australia.


SCA  Coffee Skills Program is structured in six areas:

  • Introduction to coffee Learn all about coffee travel, from its origins in Ethiopia to its main role as a commodity today. From growing the cherries to grading, roasting and brewing, this module provides an overview of the coffee value chain. 
  • Barista Skills - Learn the pratical skills you need to work behind the espresso bar. Learn how to set your grinder, milk techinique and latte art, health and safety, customer service and basic business practices.
  • Green coffee Learn about the key concepts surrounding green coffee: productrion, processing, grading, shipping, storage, arrival at destination, as well as coffee contracts and portfolio management.
  • Roasting Learn about the roasting process, including roast cycle, roast levels, identifying defectrs, the physical changes that beans undergo during the roasting process, as well as  workspace managemente and lean production
  • Sensory Skills Learn about the essentials of sensory evaluation in a practical and interactive manner. Sensory Skills investigates the way we percerive what we taste, how to evaluate coffee's natural characteristics, and implementing this knowledge in business.
  • Brewing Learn about the variety of methods for brewing coffee and brewing variables that affect quality. The Brewing module provides hands-on learning on grind profiles, brewing methods, measurig coffee strenght and charitng a coffee's extraction.
images (2)


Each module of the Coffee Skills Program SCA is divided into three levels of certification:

Foundation -  Fhe foundation Level provides a first taste of a specific coffee discipline and is a great waty to get insight into a module to help you decide if you want to go on to learn more.

Intermediate- The intermediate level is suitable if you are already part of the industry working in the field covered by the module, and have a firm knowledge of the basic skills.

Professional - The professional level is suitable if you want to pursue specialist knowledge at a high level in your subject. Success at this level should indicate to employers competence to work in the field.

Each SCA Coffee Skills Program certification gives a score, once you have achieved 100 points, you will be awarded the SCA Coffee Skills Diploma.

  • Introduction to Coffee is 10 points
  • Barista Skills/ Sensory Skills/ Brewing/ Green Coffee/ Roasting Foundation Levels are 5 points
  • Barista Skills/ Sensory Skills/ Brewing/ Green Coffee/ Roasting Intermediate Levels are 10 points
  • Barista Skills/ Sensory Skills/ Brewing/ Green Coffee/ Roasting Professional Levels are 25 points

For more information about SCA, you can directly visit its official website.

In our school you can undergo all the exams for the SCA Coffee Skills Program certification with our SCA Authorized Trainers. Course participants wishing to take part in the SCA certifications Exams are requested to inform us at the time of enrollment. Anyone wishing to take part in the certification is requested to monitor and evaluate before the required capabilities in this certifications sheets to see if the level meets the expectations and experiences.


Contact us for more information

    I agree to privacy policy. Fields marked with (*) are required.